New Zealand Fallow Buck Trophy Systems

Share |

There are three major scoring systems used for trophies in New Zealand. The system you'll use is most likely going to be based on where you come from, not where the trophy is taken.

Safari Club International (SCI)

Most used by hunters from North and South America. The system recognizes both free-range and estate hunted animals, with no deductions for asymmetry. SCI maintains an online record book. The SCI main website is here, and their online official measuring manual is here. SCI has an excellent background page on fallow deer here.

Douglas Score

Most used by hunters from New Zealand and Australia, this scoring system was developed by Norman Douglas, a member of the New Zealand Deerstalkers' Association (NZDA), and adopted by the NZDA as its official scoring system in 1959. Trophies are judged on the number of points and the spread of the antlers. More information on the Douglas scoring system is here.


Most used by hunters from Europe. The CIC Measurement Formulas were established in 1934, and take into consideration not just dimensional measurements, but also awards points for "beauty", a factor for weight, and subtracts points for imperfections. More information on the CIC formulas and medal categories can be found here.

Typical Measurements

Bucks are physical mature at 6 about years of age, and typically live 11 to 15 years. The longest-living fallow deer is believed to be 25 years.

A mature buck will stand about 3 feet tall at the shoulders, and will weigh roughly 150 to 200 lbs. Does are typically only a few inches shorter, but weigh much less, averaging around 100 lbs.

Antlers look like a cross between a moose and a deer, and can measure as much as 24".