Fallow Deer Hunting in New Zealand

Share |

About New Zealand Fallow Deer

Fallow deer were originally brought to New Zealand in 1864, and liberated in the Aniseed Valley. Over a period of about 50 years, at least 24 groups of deer were liberated in New Zealand, with some set free on both the North and South islands. Now, fallow deer are found in the wild in 13 distinct areas, and as well are found on a number of farms and private game estates. In total there are 4 main varieties of fallow deer in New Zealand today, each with quite distinct coloring, ranging from almost pure white to nearly black.

Their antlers look like a cross between a moose and a regular deer, with a broad flat section near the tips. Their antlers, unlike most other species, don't develop velvet. The rut for fallow deer is from April to the end of May, and during the rut the stags are quite aggressive, both towards other animals and even to vegetation. Fallow deer graze on the upper edge of the timberline, both in open grassy fields and in dense scrubbrush.

Fallow deer are the second most common variety of deer in New Zealand, after the red deer--in total, there were eight species of deer brought to the country. New Zealand Department of Conservation's management program keeps the overall population of fallow deer at around 10,000 animals or less. They're very wary, agile, and are fast runners, able to attain speeds of 40 mph. The Department of Conservation regulates hunting on conservation land, and permits are required. Almost all of the public conservation lands have open access with few restrictions on the number of species of deer killed. There are ballot systems at some popular fallow deer hunting areas such as the Blue Mountains in West Otago.

See our fallow deer hunting packages for New Zealand

Places to Hunt Fallow Deer

Locations of some of our fallow deer hunting trips are shown on the map below. Click on any of the markers to see one of the hunting packages we offer for that location.